NAIROBI - More African countries, including Kenya, Rwanda, The Gambia, and Seychelles are implementing visa-free access for all Africans, with the aim of creating a borderless continent.

The move is in line with the African Union’s policies that support freer intracontinental trade, investment and movement of people to promote the continent’s economic, social and political development.

While progress has been made on the aspects of the African Continental Free Trade Agreement that deals with trade and investment, Alan Hirsch writes in The Conversation that there hasn’t been much progress on the free movement of people.

And yet the success of the trade agreement requires freer movement of people.